Chicago Cubs catcher Geovany Soto was the overwhelming National League winner of the Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year Award by the BBWAA. He was the only player named on all ballots.

Soto, 25, was first on 31 and second on one of the 32 ballots cast by two writers in each NL city for 158 points, based on the 5-3-1 tabulation system. In addition to handling Chicago's pitching staff, Soto led all league rookies in RBI (86), doubles (35) and extra-base hits (60) and was second in batting (.285) and home runs (23) for the NL Central champion Cubs, who had the best record in the league. In July at Yankee Stadium, Soto was the first rookie catcher to start in an All-Star Game having been elected by fans in the 2008 voting.

The other first place vote went to Cincinnati Reds outfielder Joey Votto, the runner-up with 76 points. Votto was second in the league to Soto in RBI (84) doubles (34) and extra-base hits (59) among rookies but first in seven other offensive categories: batting (.297), home runs (24), hits (156), total bases (266), multi-hit games (42), on-base percentage (.368) and slugging (.506). Atlanta Braves pitcher Jair Jurrjens (13-10, 3.68 ERA) placed third. In all, six players gained mention.

Soto is the fifth catcher to win the award — joining Johnny Bench, Earl Williams, Benito Santiago and Mike Piazza — and the fifth Cubs winner. The others were Billy Williams, Ken Hubbs, Jerome Walton and Kerry Wood.

The vote:

Player Club 1st 2nd 3rd Points
Geovany Soto Chicago Cubs 31 1 158
Joey Votto Cincinnati Reds 1 21 8 76
Jair Jurrjens Atlanta Braves 6 16 34
Edinson Volquez Cincinnati Reds 3 9
Jay Bruce Cincinnati Reds 7 7
Kosuke Fukudome Chicago Cubs 1 1 4

Previous winners (*—Unanimous):
2007 RYAN BRAUN, Milwaukee Brewers; 2006 HANLEY RAMIREZ, Florida Marlins; 2005 RYAN HOWARD, Philadelphia Phillies; 2004 JASON BAY, Pittsburgh Pirates; 2003 DONTRELLE WILLIS, Florida Marlins; 2002 JASON JENNINGS, Colorado Rockies; 2001 *ALBERT PUJOLS, St. Louis Cardinals; 2000 RAFAEL FURCAL, Atlanta Braves; 1999 SCOTT WILLIAMSON, Cincinnati Reds; 1998 KERRY WOOD, Chicago Cubs; 1997 *SCOTT ROLEN, Philadelphia Phillies; 1996 TODD HOLLANDSWORTH, Los Angeles Dodgers; 1995 HIDEO NOMO, Los Angeles Dodgers; 1994 *RAUL MONDESI, Los Angeles Dodgers; 1993 *MIKE PIAZZA, Los Angeles Dodgers; 1992 ERIC KARROS, Los Angeles Dodgers; 1991 JEFF BAGWELL, Houston Astros; 1990 DAVID JUSTICE, Atlanta Braves; 1989 JEROME WALTON, Chicago Cubs; 1988 CHRIS SABO, Cincinnati Reds; 1987 *BENITO SANTIAGO, San Diego Padres; 1986 TODD WORRELL, St. Louis Cardinals; 1985 *VINCE COLEMAN, St. Louis Cardinals; 1984 DWIGHT GOODEN, New York Mets; 1983 DARRYL STRAWBERRY, New York Mets; 1982 STEVE SAX, Los Angeles Dodgers; 1981 FERNANDO VALENZUELA, Los Angeles Dodgers; 1980 STEVE HOWE, Los Angeles Dodgers; 1979 RICK SUTCLIFFE, Los Angeles Dodgers; 1978 BOB HORNER, Atlanta Braves; 1977 ANDRE DAWSON, Montreal Expos; 1976 (Tie) BUTCH METZGER, San Diego Padres, and PAT ZACHRY, Cincinnati Reds; 1975 JOHN MONTEFUSCO, San Francisco Giants; 1974 BAKE McBRIDE, St. Louis Cardinals; 1973 GARY MATTHEWS, San Francisco Giants; 1972 JON MATLACK, New York Mets; 1971 EARL WILLIAMS, Atlanta Braves; 1970 CARL MORTON, Montreal Expos; 1969 TED SIZEMORE, Los Angeles Dodgers; 1968 JOHNNY BENCH, Cincinnati Reds; 1967 TOM SEAVER, New York Mets; 1966 TOMMY HELMS, Cincinnati Reds; 1965 JIM LEFEBVRE, Los Angeles Dodgers; 1964 DICK ALLEN, Philadelphia Phillies; 1963 PETE ROSE, Cincinnati Reds; 1962 KEN HUBBS, Chicago Cubs; 1961 BILLY WILLIAMS, Chicago Cubs; 1960 FRANK HOWARD, Los Angeles Dodgers; 1959 *WILLIE McCOVEY, San Francisco Giants; 1958 *ORLANDO CEPEDA, San Francisco Giants; 1957 JACK SANFORD, Philadelphia Phillies; 1956 *FRANK ROBINSON, Cincinnati Reds; 1955 BILL VIRDON, St. Louis Cardinals; 1954 WALLY MOON, St. Louis Cardinals; 1953 JUNIOR GILLIAM, Brooklyn Dodgers; 1952 JOE BLACK, Brooklyn Dodgers; 1951 WILLIE MAYS, New York Giants; 1950 SAM JETHROE, Boston Braves; 1949 DON NEWCOMBE, Brooklyn Dodgers; 1948 ALVIN DARK, Boston Braves; 1947 JACKIE ROBINSON, Brooklyn Dodgers