Tim Lincecum of the San Francisco Giants was elected the National League Cy Young Award winner in balloting by the BBWAA. It marked only the second time in the 53-season history of the voting that a Giants pitcher was honored. The other was lefthander Mike McCormick in 1967, the first year the BBWAA presented awards in both leagues. Only one award was given out from 1956 through 1966.

Of the 32 ballots submitted by two writers in each league city, Lincecum was listed first on 23, second on seven and third on one to total 137 points, based on a 5-3-1 tabulation system. The righthander, 24, was 18-5 with a 2.62 ERA and led the NL in winning percentage (.783) and strikeouts (265).

Arizona Diamondbacks righthander Brandon Webb (22-7, 3.30 ERA) received four first-place votes and placed second overall with 73 points. Webb, the 2006 winner, was the runner-up for the second consecutive season, tying a mark shared in the NL by Warren Spahn (1960-61) and Curt Schilling (2001-02) and in the American League by Dan Quisenberry (1983-84).

Also receiving four first-place votes was New York Mets lefthander Johan Santana, the third-place finisher with 55 points. Santana, a two-time Cy Young Award winner in the AL, was 16-7 and led the NL in ERA (2.53) and innings (234⅓).

The other first-place vote went to Milwaukee Brewers lefthander CC Sabathia, last year's AL winner, who was fifth overall behind Philadelphia Phillies reliever Brad Lidge (2-0, 1.95 ERA, 41 SV). Sabathia, traded from Cleveland to Milwaukee in July, was 11-2 with a 1.65 ERA and 7 complete games in the NL. Chicago Cubs righthander Ryan Dempster (17-6, 2.96 ERA), was the only other vote getter.

The vote:

Player Club 1st 2nd 3rd Points
Tim Lincecum San Francisco Giants 23 7 1 137
Brandon Webb Arizona Diamondbacks 4 15 8 73
Johan Santana New York Mets 4 8 11 55
Brad Lidge Philadelphia Phillies 1 7 10
CC Sabathia Milwaukee Brewers 1 1 1 9
Ryan Dempster Chicago Cubs 4 4

Previous winners (*—Unanimous):
2007 *JAKE PEAVY, San Diego Padres; 2006 BRANDON WEBB, Arizona Diamondbacks; 2005 CHRIS CARPENTER, St. Louis Cardinals; 2004 ROGER CLEMENS, Houston Astros; 2003 ERIC GAGNE, Los Angeles Dodgers; 2002 *RANDY JOHNSON, Arizona Diamondbacks; 2001 RANDY JOHNSON, Arizona Diamondbacks; 2000 RANDY JOHNSON, Arizona Diamondbacks; 1999 RANDY JOHNSON, Arizona Diamondbacks; 1998 TOM GLAVINE, Atlanta Braves; 1997 PEDRO MARTINEZ, Montreal Expos; 1996 JOHN SMOLTZ, Atlanta Braves; 1995 *GREG MADDUX, Atlanta Braves; 1994 *GREG MADDUX, Atlanta Braves; 1993 GREG MADDUX, Atlanta Braves; 1992 GREG MADDUX, Chicago Cubs; 1991 TOM GLAVINE, Atlanta Braves; 1990 DOUG DRABEK, Pittsburgh Pirates; 1989 MARK DAVIS, San Diego Padres; 1988 *OREL HERSHISER, Los Angeles Dodgers; 1987 STEVE BEDROSIAN, Philadelphia Phillies; 1986 MIKE SCOTT, Houston Astros; 1985 *DWIGHT GOODEN, New York Mets; 1984 *RICK SUTCLIFFE, Chicago Cubs; 1983 JOHN DENNY, Philadelphia Phillies; 1982 STEVE CARLTON, Philadelphia Phillies; 1981 FERNANDO VALENZUELA, Los Angeles Dodgers; 1980 STEVE CARLTON, Philadelphia Phillies; 1979 BRUCE SUTTER, Chicago Cubs; 1978 GAYLORD PERRY, San Diego Padres; 1977 STEVE CARLTON, Philadelphia Phillies; 1976 RANDY JONES, San Diego Padres; 1975 TOM SEAVER, New York Mets; 1974 MIKE MARSHALL, Los Angeles Dodgers; 1973 TOM SEAVER, New York Mets; 1972 *STEVE CARLTON, Philadelphia Phillies; 1971 FERGUSON JENKINS, Chicago Cubs; 1970 BOB GIBSON, St. Louis Cardinals; 1969 TOM SEAVER, New York Mets; 1968 *BOB GIBSON, St. Louis Cardinals; 1967 MIKE McCORMICK, San Francisco Giants; 1966 *SANDY KOUFAX, Los Angeles Dodgers; 1965 *SANDY KOUFAX, Los Angeles Dodgers; 1963 *SANDY KOUFAX, Los Angeles Dodgers; 1962 DON DRYSDALE, Los Angeles Dodgers; 1960 VERNON LAW, Pittsburgh Pirates; 1957 WARREN SPAHN, Milwaukee Braves; 1956 DON NEWCOMBE, Brooklyn Dodgers.

Note: One award given from 1956-66; AL pitchers won in 1958-59, ’61 and ’64.