Boston Red Sox second baseman Dustin Pedroia was an overwhelming choice as the American League winner of the Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year Award in voting by the BBWAA.

Pedroia, 24, was listed first on 24 of the 28 ballots submitted by two writers in each league city and second on the other four to total 132 points, based on the 5-3-1 tabulation system. He was the only player on every ballot. Pedroia’s .317 batting average was the highest among AL rookies. He also led first-year players in the league in runs (86) and doubles (39) and was second in total bases (230) and on-base percentage (.380) for a Boston club that went on to win its second World Series in four seasons. Voting is conducted prior to the start of post-season play.

Tampa Bay Devil Rays outfielder Delmon Young, the AL rookie leader in RBI (93), hits (186), total bases (263) and outfield assists (16), had three first-place votes and finished second in the balloting with 56 points. The other first-place vote went to Kansas City Royals pitcher Brian Bannister (12-9, 3.87 ERA), who ranked third overall with 36 points. In all, eight players gained mention.

Pedroia became the sixth Red Sox player honored and the first since Nomar Garciaparra in 1997. Other Boston winners were Walt Dropo in 1950, Don Schwall in 1961, Carlton Fisk in 1972 and Fred Lynn in 1975. Pedroia is also only the fourth second baseman to win in the AL, joining the Minnesota Twins’ Rod Carew (1967) and Chuck Knoblauch (1991) and the Detroit Tigers’ Lou Whitaker (1978). Knoblauch also won the award while playing for a team that went on to win the World Series.

The vote:

Player Club 1st 2nd 3rd Points
Dustin Pedroia Boston Red Sox 24 4 132
Delmon Young Tampa Bay Devil Rays 3 12 5 56
Brian Bannister Kansas City Royals 1 8 7 36
Daisuke Matsuzaka Boston Red Sox 2 6 12
Reggie Willits Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim 2 5 11
Hideki Okajima Boston Red Sox 3 3
Josh Fields Chicago White Sox 1 1
Joakim Soria Kansas City Royals 1 1

Previous winners (*—Unanimous):
2006 JUSTIN VERLANDER, Detroit Tigers; 2005 HUSTON STREET, Oakland Athletics; 2004 BOBBY CROSBY, Oakland Athletics; 2003 ANGEL BERROA, Kansas City Royals; 2002 ERIC HINSKE, Toronto Blue Jays; 2001 ICHIRO SUZUKI, Seattle Mariners; 2000 KAZU SASAKI, Seattle Mariners; 1999 CARLOS BELTRAN, Kansas City Royals; 1998 BEN GRIEVE, Oakland Athletics; 1997 *NOMAR GARCIAPARRA, Boston Red Sox; 1996 *DEREK JETER, New York Yankees; 1995 MARTY CORDOVA, Minnesota Twins; 1994 BOB HAMELIN, Kanas City Royals; 1993 *TIM SALMON, California Angels; 1992 PAT LISTACH, Milwaukee Brewers; 1991 CHUCK KNOBLAUCH, Minnesota Twins; 1990 *SANDY ALOMAR, Jr., Cleveland Indians; 1989 GREGG OLSON, Baltimore Orioles; 1988 WALT WEISS, Oakland Athletics; 1987 *MARK McGWIRE, Oakland Athletics; 1986 JOSE CANSECO, Oakland Athletics; 1985 OZZIE GUILLEN, Chicago White Sox; 1984 ALVIN DAVIS, Seattle Mariners; 1983 RON KITTLE, Chicago White Sox; 1982 CAL RIPKEN Jr., Baltimore Orioles; 1981 DAVE RIGHETTI, New York Yankees; 1980 JOE CHARBONEAU, Cleveland Indians; 1979 (Tie) JOHN CASTINO, Minnesota Twins, and ALFREDO GRIFFIN, Toronto Blue Jays; 1978 LOU WHITAKER, Detroit Tigers; 1977 EDDIE MURRAY, Baltimore Orioles; 1976 MARK FIDRYCH, Detroit Tigers; 1975 FRED LYNN, Boston Red Sox; 1974 MIKE HARGROVE, Texas Rangers; 1973 AL BUMBRY, Baltimore Orioles; 1972 *CARLTON FISK, Boston Red Sox; 1971 CHRIS CHAMBLISS, Cleveland Indians; 1970 THURMAN MUNSON, New York Yankees; 1969 LOU PINIELLA, Kansas City Royals; 1968 STAN BAHNSEN, New York Yankees; 1967 ROD CAREW, Minnesota Twins; 1966 TOMMIE AGEE, Chicago White Sox; 1965 CURT BLEFARY, Baltimore Orioles; 1964 TONY OLIVA, Minnesota Twins; 1963 GARY PETERS, Chicago White Sox; 1962 TOM TRESH, New York Yankees; 1961 DON SCHWALL, Boston Red Sox; 1960 RON HANSEN, Baltimore Orioles; 1959 BOB ALLISON, Washington Senators; 1958 ALBIE PEARSON, Washington Senators; 1957 TONY KUBEK, New York Yankees; 1956 LUIS APARICIO, Chicago White Sox; 1955 HERB SCORE, Cleveland Indians; 1954 BOB GRIM, New York Yankees; 1953 HARVEY KUENN, Detroit Tigers; 1952 HARRY BYRD, Philadelphia Athletics; 1951 GIL McDOUGALD, New York Yankees; 1950 WALT DROPO, Boston Red Sox; 1949 ROY SIEVERS, St. Louis Browns.