Eric Wedge, who piloted the Cleveland Indians to the American League Central title and shared with the Boston Red Sox the best record in the majors in 2007, was elected AL Manager of the Year in balloting by the BBWAA. He is the first Cleveland manager honored with the award, which the BBWAA first presented in 1983.

Wedge was the only manager listed on all 28 ballots cast by two writers in each league city. He was first on 19, second on six and third on three to score 116 points, based on the 5-3-1 tabulation system. Wedge was the only manager named on every ballot.

The Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim’s Mike Scioscia, the winner in 2002, was the runner-up with 62 points, based on four first-place votes, 11 seconds and nine thirds. The New York Yankees’ Joe Torre, a two-time winner (1996 and 1998), had one more first-place vote than Scioscia but was one point behind in third place with 61 points. Torre has since moved to the National League where he will be the manager of the Los Angeles Dodgers.

Terry Francona, who won his second World Series in four seasons with the Red Sox, was the only other manager to receive votes and was fourth with 13 points. Voting is conducted prior to post-season play.

It marked the second consecutive year that only four managers gained mention. In 2006 when the Detroit Tigers’ Jim Leyland was the winner, the only other managers to receive votes were Ron Gardenhire of the Minnesota Twins, Ken Macha, then with the Oakland Athletics, and Torre.

Wedge, who finished second in the 2005 balloting to Ozzie Guillen of the Chicago White Sox, took the Indians to their first post-season appearance in six years with a 96-66 record, coming off a 78-84 mark in 2006. Cleveland eliminated the Yankees in four games in the Division Series before losing in seven games to the Red Sox in the AL Championship Series.

At 39 years, 10 months of age, Wedge, who was in his fifth season as manager of the Indians, is the third youngest manager to win the award. Buck Showalter was 38 years, six months, when he won for the first time in 1994 with the New York Yankees. Showalter won again in 2004 with the Texas Rangers.

Tony La Russa was 39 years, one month old when he won the first of his four Manager of the Year Awards in 1983 with the Chicago White Sox. He won again in the AL with the Oakland Athletics in 1988 and 1992 and in the NL with the St. Louis Cardinals in 2002.

The vote:

Player Club 1st 2nd 3rd Points
Eric Wedge Cleveland Indians 19 6 3 116
Mike Scioscia Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim 4 11 9 62
Joe Torre New York Yankees 5 8 12 61
Terry Francona Boston Red Sox 3 4 13

Previous winners:
2006 JIM LEYLAND, DEtroit Tigers; 2005 OZZIE GUILLEN, Chicago White Sox; 2004 BUCK SHOWALTER, Texas Rangers; 2003 TONY PENA, Kansas City Royals; 2002 MIKE SCIOSCIA, Anaheim Angels; 2001 LOU PINIELLA, Seattle Mariners; 2000 JERRY MANUEL, Chicago White Sox; 1999 JIMY WILLIAMS, Boston Red Sox; 1998 JOE TORRE, New York Yankees; 1997 DAVEY JOHNSON, Baltimore Orioles; 1996 (Tie) JOHNNY OATES, Texas Rangers, and JOE TORRE, New York Yankees; 1995 LOU PINIELLA, Seattle Mariners; 1994 BUCK SHOWALTER, New York Yankees; 1993 GENE LAMONT, Chicago White Sox; 1992 TONY La RUSSA, Oakland Athletics; 1991 TOM KELLY, Minnesota Twins; 1990 JEFF TORBORG, Chicago White Sox; 1989 FRANK ROBINSON, Baltimore Orioles; 1988 TONY La RUSSA, Oakland Athletics; 1987 SPARKY ANDERSON, Detroit Tigers; 1986 JOHN McNAMARA, Boston Red Sox; 1985 BOBBY COX, Toronto Blue Jays; 1984 SPARKY ANDERSON, Detroit Tigers; 1983 TONY La RUSSA, Chicago White Sox