C.C. Sabathia of the Cleveland Indians was elected the American League Cy Young Award winner in balloting by the BBWAA. It marked only the second time in the 52-season history of the voting that a Cleveland pitcher was honored. The other was Gaylord Perry in 1972. Perry won a second Cy Young Award, in the National League, with the San Diego Padres in 1978.

Sabathia was listed first on 19 of 28 ballots cast by two writers in each league city and second on eight to total 119 points, based on the 5-3-1 tabulation system. The lefthander, 27, who had a 19-7 record with a 3.21 ERA, led the AL in innings (241), was second in complete games (4), tied for second in victories and fifth in ERA and strikeouts (209) for the AL Central champion Indians.

Boston Red Sox righthander Josh Beckett (20-7, 3.27 ERA) was listed first on eight ballots, second on 14 and third on four to finish with the runner-up total of 86 points. Beckett had the AL’s highest victory total and ranked sixth in ERA and seventh in strikeouts (194) for the AL East champion Red Sox, who went on to win the World Series. Voting is conducted based solely on regular-season play.

The other first-place vote went to Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim righthander John Lackey (19-9, 3.01 ERA), who finished third overall with 36 points. Lackey led the league in ERA, was tied for the lead in shutouts (2), tied for second in victories and fifth in innings (224). Five other pitchers received votes.

The vote:

Player Club 1st 2nd 3rd Points
C.C. Sabathia Cleveland Indians 19 8 119
Josh Beckett Boston Red Sox 8 14 4 86
John Lackey Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim 1 5 16 36
Fausto Carmona Cleveland Indians 1 4 7
Eric Bedard Baltimore Orioles 1 1
Roy Halladay Toronto Blue Jays 1 1
Johan Santana Minnesota Twins 1 1
Justin Verlander Detroit Tigers 1 1

Previous winners (*—Unanimous):
2006 *JOHAN SANTANA, Minnesota Twins; 2005 BARTOLO COLON, Los Angeles Angels; 2004 *JOHAN SANTANA, Minnesota Twins; 2003 ROY HALLADAY, Toronto Blue Jays; 2002 BARRY ZITO, Oakland Athletics; 2001 ROGER CLEMENS, New York Yankees; 2000 *PEDRO MARTINEZ, Boston Red Sox; 1999 *PEDRO MARTINEZ, Boston Red Sox; 1998 *ROGER CLEMENS, Toronto Blue Jays; 1997 ROGER CLEMENS, Toronto Blue Jays; 1996 PAT HENTGEN, Toronto Blue Jays; 1995 RANDY JOHNSON, Seattle Mariners; 1994 DAVID CONE, Kansas City Royals; 1993 JACK McDOWELL, Chicago White Sox; 1992 DENNIS ECKERSLEY, Oakland Athletics; 1991 ROGER CLEMENS, Boston Red Sox; 1990 BOB WELCH, Oakland Athletics; 1989 BRET SABERHAGEN, Kansas City Royals; 1988 FRANK VIOLA, Minnesota Twins; 1987 ROGER CLEMENS, Boston Red Sox; 1986 *ROGER CLEMENS, Boston Red Sox; 1985 BRET SABERHAGEN, Kansas City Royals; 1984 GUILLERMO (WILLIE) HERNANDEZ, Detroit Tigers; 1983 LaMARR HOYT, Chicago White Sox; 1982 PETE VUCKOVICH, Milwaukee Brewers; 1981 ROLLIE FINGERS, Milwaukee Brewers; 1980 STEVE STONE, Baltimore Orioles; 1979 MIKE FLANAGAN, Baltimore Orioles; 1978 *RON GUIDRY, New York Yankees; 1977 SPARKY LYLE, New York Yankees; 1976 JIM PALMER, Baltimore Orioles; 1975 JIM PALMER, Baltimore Orioles; 1974 JIM (CATFISH) HUNTER, Oakland Athletics; 1973 JIM PALMER, Baltimore Orioles; 1972 GAYLORD PERRY, Cleveland Indians; 1971 VIDA BLUE, Oakland Athletics; 1970 JIM PERRY, Minnesota Twins; 1969 (Tie) MIKE CUELLAR, Baltimore Orioles, and DENNY McLAIN, Detroit Tigers; 1968 *DENNY McLAIN, Detroit Tigers; 1967 JIM LONBORG, Boston Red Sox; 1964 DEAN CHANCE, Los Angeles Angels; 1961 WHITEY FORD, New York Yankees; 1959 EARLY WYNN, Chicago White Sox; 1958 BOB TURLEY, New York Yankees

Note: One award given from 1956-66; NL pitchers won in 1956-57, '60, '62-63 and '65-66.