Jim Leyland, who directed the Detroit Tigers into post-season play for the first time in 19 years and ended a franchise-worst stretch of 12 losing seasons, was elected American League Manager of the Year in balloting by the BBWAA.

Leyland, 61, was the only manager listed on all 28 ballots cast by two writers in each league city. He was first on 19, second on seven and third on two to score 118 points, based on the 5-3-1 tabulation system. Leyland's AL Central Division rival, Ron Gardenhire of the Minnesota Twins, finished second in the voting for the third time in the past four years.

Returning to the dugout after an absence of six years, Leyland inherited a club that had lost 91 games in 2005 and was only three years removed from a 119-loss season. The Tigers finished with a 95-67 record, their highest victory total since 1987 when they won 98 games and the AL East title. Detroit went on to defeat the New York Yankees in four games in the AL Division Series and sweep the Oakland Athletics in the best-of-7 AL Championship Series before losing in five games to the St. Louis Cardinals in the World Series. Balloting is conducted prior to post-season play.

Gardenhire, who was also the runnerup in 2004 and ’03, received the other nine first-place votes and was second on 15 ballots and third on three for 93 points. Also gaining mention were the Yankees' Joe Torre and the Athletics' Ken Macha.

Leyland became the third manager to win this award in each league, equaling four-time winners Tony La Russa and Bobby Cox. Leyland won in the National League with the Pittsburgh Pirates in 1990 and ’92. His three overall victories tied him with Dusty Baker.

The vote:

Player Club 1st 2nd 3rd Points
Jim Leyland Detroit Tigers 19 7 2 118
Ron Gardenhire Minnesota Twins 9 15 3 93
Ken Macha Oakland Athletics 5 11 26
Joe Torre New York Yankees 1 12 15

Previous winners:
2005 OZZIE GUILLEN, Chicago White Sox; 2004 BUCK SHOWALTER, Texas Rangers; 2003 TONY PENA, Kansas City Royals; 2002 MIKE SCIOSCIA, Anaheim Angels; 2001 LOU PINIELLA, Seattle Mariners; 2000 JERRY MANUEL, Chicago White Sox; 1999 JIMY WILLIAMS, Boston Red Sox; 1998 JOE TORRE, New York Yankees; 1997 DAVEY JOHNSON, Baltimore Orioles; 1996 (Tie) JOHNNY OATES, Texas Rangers, and JOE TORRE, New York Yankees; 1995 LOU PINIELLA, Seattle Mariners; 1994 BUCK SHOWALTER, New York Yankees; 1993 GENE LAMONT, Chicago White Sox; 1992 TONY La RUSSA, Oakland Athletics; 1991 TOM KELLY, Minnesota Twins; 1990 JEFF TORBORG, Chicago White Sox; 1989 FRANK ROBINSON, Baltimore Orioles; 1988 TONY La RUSSA, Oakland Athletics; 1987 SPARKY ANDERSON, Detroit Tigers; 1986 JOHN McNAMARA, Boston Red Sox; 1985 BOBBY COX, Toronto Blue Jays; 1984 SPARKY ANDERSON, Detroit Tigers; 1983 TONY La RUSSA, Chicago White Sox