Ozzie Guillen, who guided the Chicago White Sox to the best record in the American League, was elected AL Manager of the Year in balloting by the Baseball Writers' Association of America.

Guillen, 41, was listed first on 17 ballots, second on five and third on five from the committee of two writers in each league city to total 105 points, based on the 5-3-1 tabulation system.

In his second season as manager, Guillen directed Chicago to the AL Central title with a 99-63 record, then captured the franchise's first pennant in 46 years and its first World Series championship in 88 years. Balloting is conducted prior to the start of postseason play.

It was the eighth time a Manager of the Year winner came from that year's World Series champ. The others were Joe Torre twice with the New York Yankees in 1996 and 1998, Sparky Anderson with the Detroit Tigers in 1984, Tommy Lasorda with the Los Angeles Dodgers in 1988, Tom Kelly with the Minnesota Twins in 1991, Mike Scioscia with the Anaheim Angels in 2002 and Jack McKeon with the Florida Marlins in 2003.

The Cleveland Indians' Eric Wedge had six first-place votes and finished second in the voting with 71 points. The third-place finisher was two-time winner Torre with four first-place votes and 43 points. The other first-place vote went to the Oakland Athletics' Ken Macha, who was fourth with 21 points. Other managers gaining mention were Scioscia, the Boston Red Sox' Terry Francona and the Toronto Blue Jays' John Gibbons. No manager was listed on every ballot.

Guillen, the AL Rookie of the Year in 1985 when he broke into the majors with the White Sox as a shortstop, is the third person to win both awards, along with Frank Robinson and Lou Piniella. Guillen is the fifth White Sox manager honored, joining Tony La Russa, Jeff Torborg, Gene Lamont and Jerry Manuel.

Guillen became the first Venezuelan to win the award and the third Latin American. Tony Pena, the 2003 AL winner with the Kansas City Royals, and Felipe Alou, the 1994 National League winner with the Montreal Expos, are from the Dominican Republic.

The vote:

Player Club 1st 2nd 3rd Points
Ozzie Guillen Chicago White Sox 17 5 5 105
Eric Wedge Cleveland Indians 6 11 8 71
Joe Torre New York Yankees 4 7 2 43
Ken Macha Oakland Athletics 1 3 7 21
Mike Scioscia Los Angeles Angels 1 4 7
Terry Francona Boston Red Sox 1 1 4
John Gibbons Toronto Blue Jays 1 1

Previous winners:
2004 BUCK SHOWALTER, Texas Rangers; 2003 TONY PENA, Kansas City Royals; 2002 MIKE SCIOSCIA, Anaheim Angels; 2001 LOU PINIELLA, Seattle Mariners; 2000 JERRY MANUEL, Chicago White Sox; 1999 JIMY WILLIAMS, Boston Red Sox; 1998 JOE TORRE, New York Yankees; 1997 DAVEY JOHNSON, Baltimore Orioles; 1996 (Tie) JOHNNY OATES, Texas Rangers, and JOE TORRE, New York Yankees; 1995 LOU PINIELLA, Seattle Mariners; 1994 BUCK SHOWALTER, New York Yankees; 1993 GENE LAMONT, Chicago White Sox; 1992 TONY La RUSSA, Oakland Athletics; 1991 TOM KELLY, Minnesota Twins; 1990 JEFF TORBORG, Chicago White Sox; 1989 FRANK ROBINSON, Baltimore Orioles; 1988 TONY La RUSSA, Oakland Athletics; 1987 SPARKY ANDERSON, Detroit Tigers; 1986 JOHN McNAMARA, Boston Red Sox; 1985 BOBBY COX, Toronto Blue Jays; 1984 SPARKY ANDERSON, Detroit Tigers; 1983 TONY La RUSSA, Chicago White Sox